Era: Enlightenment

American Colonies

YOU HAVE THE POWER OF MILITIA. You can summon a militia to defend your starting area.

Starting configuration for American Colonies

Once per turn, after moving you may summon a militia in your 3x5 starting area. A militia can move like a king, but may only capture diagonally, and is destroyed two turns after it is summoned. A militia may make a move outside your 3x5 area only to capture a piece.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF TACTICS. When two of your horsemen surround an enemy, he is as good as dead.

Starting configuration for Austria

Instead of moving one piece, you can move two knights. You cannot use this ability two turns in a row.

Whenever an Austrian knight moves to a position where he is threatening an enemy piece that is also threatened by another Austrian knight, that piece is immediately destroyed.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF DEMOCRACY. Because you have no king, it is extremely difficult to checkmate you.

Starting configuration for Britain

Ministers can move like kings and like knights, and are royal. If you move a minister as a knight, on your next turn you may not move a minister as a knight.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF FEAR. You can motivate your soldiers to move again through the use of fear.

Starting configuration for France

After moving a piece on your turn, you may move again if you sacrifice a piece you control. Remove the sacrificed piece from the game. You may do this any number of times per turn, but you may not check or capture a royal piece with one of your additional moves.

Holy Roman Empire

YOU HAVE THE POWER OF INDEPENDENCE. The German princes can act independently of each other, but do not always get along.

Starting configuration for Holy Roman Empire

On your turn, instead of moving one piece, you may choose to move two rooks. However, you may not move them in the same direction.

When one of your rooks is captured, the piece that captured it cannot be captured by one of your rooks on your next turn, but can be captured on later turns.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF TRADE. You can use your vast reserves of money to trade soldiers on the field to confuse and overpower your enemies.

Starting configuration for Netherlands

Whenever a Dutch piece moves to a space horizontally or vertically (not diagonally) adjacent to an enemy piece, you take control the enemy piece, while that player takes control of your piece. If a Dutch piece moves to a space adjacent to two or more enemy pieces, you can choose which piece to trade with.

Neither your king nor enemy kings can be traded. You cannot trade on your first turn. If trading is not allowed in any situation, you may still make the move, but no trade occurs.

Papal States

YOU HAVE THE POWER OF THE CHURCH. Italian bishops have special movement, and have the ability to become even more powerful as they move up the hierarchy of the Catholic Church.

Starting configuration for Papal States

Your bishops can jump two squares diagonally in addition to moving normally.

Whenever one of your bishops moves into another player’s 2x4, it promotes to an archbishop . Archbishops can move like regular Papal States bishops, but can also jump one or two squares horizontally or vertically.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF ALLIANCE. Although your army is weak, you can still conquer though cunning diplomacy.

Starting configuration for Poland

On your turn, after your move you may declare an "alliance" with one other player. You must then give a pawn you control to that player: remove that pawn from the game, and the chosen opponent can choose to place a pawn into his 3x5 starting area at the start of his next turn. That opponent, for the next two turns, may not capture any of your pieces, and whenever he captures any piece during his next two turns, you can place a pawn into you 3x5 starting area. However, you may not capture any of that player’s pieces until the alliance expires.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF NAVIGATION. The Portuguese have discovered new ways to travel around the world.

Starting configuration for Portugal

You may move your pieces as though the top and bottom sides of the board are connected, and the right and left sides of the board are connected. In this manner, bishops can also move as though opposite corners are connected. You may not capture while crossing a side or corner of the board.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF ENLIGHTENMENT. Prussia’s supposed “refinement” draws people from near and far to it.

Starting configuration for Prussia

Whenever a Prussian piece moves, you may choose to pull pieces. If you do, all pieces that are on the same rank or file as it, and are within three squares of it, are pulled as close to the Prussian piece as possible (i.e. without passing obstacles or other pieces).


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF WINTER. Your enemies have to be careful lest they freeze to death.

Starting configuration for Russia

Whenever a non-Russian non-royal piece stands for two of your turns without any other pieces horizontally or vertically adjacent to it, it is automatically destroyed. If the Russian player is defeated, this rule no longer applies.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF CONQUEST. The Spanish know better than anyone else how to exploit the lands that they conquer.

Starting configuration for Spain

Whenever you capture a piece, you receive an additional pawn and place it "in reserve" outside of the board. On your turn, instead of moving, you may place any pawn that you have in reserve on the board, provided that it does not put any player in check, it cannot promote, and it cannot immediately move to a square where it can promote.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF BUREAUCRACY. The Swedish army is so micromanaged that the king can move independently of his soldiers.

Starting configuration for Sweden

You may move one pawn and one non-pawn piece in the same turn. This power may not be used two turns in a row.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF NEUTRALITY. The Swiss are naturally protected from almost any attack, and can choose to stay out of most conflicts.

Starting configuration for Switzerland

An enemy player may only capture a Swiss piece if at least one of the following conditions is satisfied:

  1. The Swiss captured a piece belonging to that player at some point in the game.
  2. The enemy player has already either captured or lost at least three pieces.
  3. The enemy player is in check.

The Hurons

YOU HAVE THE POWER OF AMBUSH. Your warriors are adept at attacking from unexpected directions.

Starting configuration for The Hurons

All of your pieces can jump two squares in any direction that they normally move in, but when using a jump move you must jump over a piece. Thus, a king can jump two squares in any direction over a piece, a bishop two squares diagonally, a rook two squares horizontally or vertically and a pawn two squares forwards into an open square or two squares diagonally to capture a piece.


YOU HAVE THE POWER OF NAVAL BLOCKADE. Your blockade prevents your opponents from using their powers.

Starting configuration for Venice

Once every other turn you may counter an opponent’s power at the start of your turn. Any power may be countered, including Egypt’s. The opponent will regain his power at the end of your next turn. If a player is put in checkmate because of this, then the person who had his power cancelled retains it. This power may not be used on the first turn.

Previous Era: Medieval Main Index Next Era: Modern